Thursday, October 19, 2017

2017 IMATYC Business Meeting Minutes

IMATYC Business Meeting Minutes
October 13, 2017
Iowa Western Community College

·       The meeting was called to order at 12:20 p.m. by President Paul Miller
o   Approval of 2016 minutes – Curtis Mitchell moved to approve, David Gisch second.  Motion approved.

·        Reports:
o   Treasurer’s Report – A copy was provided to all members.  Randy Smith moved to approve.  David Gisch second.  Motion approved.
o   Iowa Pre-Calculus advisory board (Randy Smith) – IPAC, a group composed of HS, AEA, CC, and Regents members, has put out position papers.  Copies of the Trigonometry and Pre-Calculus were provided to members.  Others are available on the website at .  Work on pedagogy in position papers.  Send comments to Randy at and he will carry forward to council.  Also let him know if you want to be involved.
o   Nicole Lang  - Central Region Vice President, AMATYC,  October 13th was the last day to reserve a room for AMATYC, San Diego at the hotel provided on conference website.  Applications are due shortly for Mathematics Excellence Award.  This is Nicole’s last year as the Central Region Vice President.  She will be replaced by Rochelle Beatty of Kansas on January 1st.  Nicole asked use to consider donating to the AMATYC hospitality room and/or Project Access.  Randy Smith moved to donate $50 to the Hospitality Room.  Curtis Mitchell second.  Motion approved.
·        Old Business – no old business

·        New Business
o   AMATYC Delegates – 2018 conference Orlando, FL  There are two types of AMATYC Delegates:   State Delegates, currently Chris McClure and Glen Day who will serve from Spring 2017 to Spring 2019 and Affiliate Delegate, currently Curtis Mitchell.  They will attend delegate meetings at the 2017 conference in San Diego.  2018 delegates were discussed.  Lori Robeson nominated Curtis Mitchell to be the 2018 Affiliate Delegate, second by Annette Hamilton.  Motion approved.  It was discussed that if Chris McClure and Glen Day will not be attending 2018 in Orlando, then a state proxy can serve and be selected at 2018 IMATYC conference.  Randy Smith has volunteered to act as state proxy if needed.
o   Paul Miller informed the group that Iowa Western Community College had paid the expenses associated with bringing in our key note speakers for the conference.  He suggested that a thank-you note be sent to the administration of IWCC from IMATYC.  Susan Harthun made a motion to send a letter to IWCC with second by David Gisch.  Motion approved.

·        Election of Offices
o   President (will serve as president and host the IMATYC meeting during 2018)-Kubi Dagtoros, Ellsworth Community College.  A secretary is needed for the 2018 conference.  David Gisch made a motion to nominate Brent Ries as secretary, second by Virginia Swenson.  Motion approved.
o   President Elect (will serve as president and host the IMATYC meeting during 2019)-After much discussion, Susan Harthun nominated David Gisch, second by Virginia Swenson.  Motion approved.
o   Secretary – Randy Smith nominated May Shoomkamola. Second by Virginia Swenson.  Motion approved.
o   Treasurer – Susan Harthun volunteered to remain as treasurer.  David Gisch made a motion to nominate Susan Harthun.  Second by Randy Smith.  Motion Approved.  Susan mentioned that currently she is the only person authorized on the IMATYC checking account.  Curtis Mitchell moved to authorize Susan Harthun to add Slav Sharapov to the checking account.  David Gisch second.  Motion approved.
o   Members at Large – Discussion on the necessity and role of the Members at Large was followed by:  Susan Harthun nominated Lori Robeson.  Curtis Mitchell second.  Motion approved.  David Busch nominated John Weber. Martin Hilberg second.  Motion approved.

·        Meeting adjourned at 1:06 p.m.
Minutes respectfully submitted,
Lori Robeson
2017 IMATYC Secretary